Atmospheric Rock and the Greeks.

For as I passed along and observed the objects of your worship, I found also an altar with this inscription, ‘To the unknown god.’ What therefore you worship as unknown, this I proclaim to you. (Acts 17:23 ESV)

So by far, my recent favorite musical genera is atmospheric rock.

Check out Explosions in the Sky and God is an Astronaut. Sounds dumb? It’s awesome, shut your mouth. It began for me in Seattle, and makes me very happy.

WARNING: contains 8min long emotional rollercoasters. Depression may follow.

Anyway a bloke I live opposite is in an atmospheric rock band Killington Fall who have a song titled ‘To a God Unknown’ I think taken from the above verse from Acts. Athenians had set up an idol to an ‘unknown God’ because they weren’t sure they were worshipping the right God (they already had around 30)

 

Explosions in the Sky

 

The point is we haven’t changed much.

The unknown is a growing fascination in our culture, so Pauls’ What therefore you worship as unknown, I proclaim to you” is still huge.

People were made with a desire to worship something/someone. This desire is satisfied entirely in Jesus.

This is why I love ccm:city‘s series on Corinthians, finding God in a desire for experience. The Greeks needed Jesus so do we.


Leave a comment